Makeup Hack: Turn Your Eye Shadow into Eye Liner

31 Mar

MAC Cosmetics Embark Eye Shadow

Happy mid-week beauties!

Did you know that you can turn your favorite powdered eye shadow into an eye liner?

Using an eye shadow instead of a pencil liner creates a softer, more natural look.

Applying Eye Shadow as Eye Liner

Here are three easy steps to applying powder or cake eye liner:

  1. Select an eye shadow color that helps you get the look you want. TIP: For fuller, thicker looking lashes, apply a darker eye shadow.
    a
  2. Dip the tip of the eyeliner brush into the eye shadow. Apply wet for a dramatic effect or dry for a soft look.
    a
  3. Starting at the outer corner of your eye, move the brush across your upper lash line inward. Remember to stay as close to your lashes as possible.

MAC Products to Use

To line my eyes, I use MAC Embark eye shadow. This matte shade is a dark brown with a tinge of burgundy.

If you have blue or hazel eyes, this shade will make your eyes pop!

The angle brush I use is the MAC 266 Small Angle Brush. This angled brush is one of the best I’ve found for creating more precise lines!

11 Responses to “Makeup Hack: Turn Your Eye Shadow into Eye Liner”

  1. asparklingjourney 11/04/2016 at 2:59 am #

    I need to try this! xx

    https://asparklingjourney.wordpress.com/

    Like

  2. Cara Siskova 08/04/2016 at 10:34 am #

    I’ll totally be trying this. I’m recently into repurposing my cosmetics haha. For example I purchased some face powder yesterday that I intend to be using for dark contouring and I’ll be getting mac concealer as foundation. I have the most difficult time finding my shades though. :/

    Like

    • Blushstopshere 08/04/2016 at 12:20 pm #

      Repurposing makeup products is a good thing. Hope you get awesome results!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. thestyleintervention 04/04/2016 at 2:40 pm #

    Good idea! I actually use MAC Charcoal Brown with a 266 for my eyebrows. Xxxx

    Like

    • Blushstopshere 04/04/2016 at 3:50 pm #

      The MAC 266 brush would be awesome for eyebrows as well. Thanks for the info!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. heatherwhite_lv 01/04/2016 at 7:44 pm #

    Great post! Just letting you know I’ve nominated you for the 2016 Liebster Award! Stop by my blog for more details.

    Like

  5. myfavesjournal 01/04/2016 at 11:48 am #

    I’m going to give this a try :), great tips.

    Like

  6. TheMakeupCase17 31/03/2016 at 3:16 pm #

    I do this all the time for my lower lash line. I like spraying my pencil brush (the Morphe G27 is my fave) with some MAC Fix+ to give it better staying power.

    Like

    • Blushstopshere 31/03/2016 at 3:46 pm #

      Great tip. Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Comment Here

